Zum Menü Zum Inhalt
ArchivArrowArrow downCloseFacebookFullscreenInstagramLogo TextMagnifierMinusNextNumberOverviewPinterestPrevQuote 1Quote 2Social MediaShareTwitterUpdatesWienerberger LogoYouTubeYoutube
Ausgabe #23

HANDGEFERTIGTE TONZIEGEL VERLEIHEN DIESEM HAUS MEHR LEBEN

Dach & Fassade

Caring Wood ist ein umfangreiches Landhausprojekt inmitten von 84 Hektar malerischer Landschaft in Kent, Großbritannien. Es handelt sich um ein prachtvolles Haus mit Platz für drei Generationen derselben Familie in formellen, gemeinschaftlichen und privaten Räumen. Das Projekt erhielt vor Kurzem die Auszeichnung RIBA House of the Year 2017.
Buildings: Handmade Clay Tiles - Interior
© James Morris
Buildings: Handmade Clay Tiles
© James Morris
Buildings: Handmade Clay Tiles
© James Morris
Zum Artikel
Buildings: Handmade Clay Tiles
© James Morris

HANDGEFERTIGTE TONZIEGEL VERLEIHEN DIESEM HAUS MEHR LEBEN

Dach & Fassade

Caring Wood ist ein umfangreiches Landhausprojekt inmitten von 84 Hektar malerischer Landschaft in Kent, Großbritannien. Es handelt sich um ein prachtvolles Haus mit Platz für drei Generationen derselben Familie in formellen, gemeinschaftlichen und privaten Räumen. Das Projekt erhielt vor Kurzem die Auszeichnung RIBA House of the Year 2017.

Die Architekten standen vor einer schwierigen Ausgangssituation: Sie sollten den Geist des englischen Landhauses in einem Design verkörpern, das dem Kontext und der Landschaft ange- messen war, und gleichzeitig eine kohlenstoffneutrale Antwort auf die Klimaveränderung liefern. Ästhetische Ambitionen, praktische Anforderungen und nachhaltige Prinzipien diktierten die Auswahl des Materials und der Grundelemente, insbesondere für das Dach.

Buildings: Handmade Clay Tiles
© James Morris

KEIN GEWÖHNLICHES DACH

Das Design der Dachein- deckung beinhaltete eine Kombination aus Formen und Winkeln, die ein langlebiges und anpassbares Dachziegelprodukt erforderten. Nach einer umfangreichen Suche, wobei Lieferanten und Produkte verglichen wurden, einigten sich die Architekten James MacDonald Wright und Niall Maxwell auf handgefertigte Tondachziegel.

Die Architekten entschieden sich aus zwei Gründen für traditionelle Ziegel. Erstens gefiel ihnen die natürliche Ästhetik, die von einer charakteristischen Oberfläche und einer warmen Farbe durchdrungen ist. Und zweitens machte das Design die Handhabung und Verlegung zu einem unkomplizierten und einfachen Vorgang für die Auftragnehmer. Die Architekten waren bei den Details und der Planung gründlich und entschieden sich wegen ihres speziellen und flexiblen Einsatzes für diese spezifischen Ziegel.

Beyond the impression of sublime craftsmanship and spatial grandeur this house offers, Caring Wood leads us to fundamentally question how we might live together in the future.«

RIBA House of the Year 2017 jury chair, Deborah Saunt

Buildings: Handmade Clay Tiles
© James Morris

MOTIVIERT DURCH DAS DESIGN

Das Projektteam arbeitete hart, um sicherzustellen, dass nichts dem Zufall überlassen blieb – jeder Winkel und jede Form wurde im Voraus detailliert ausgearbeitet und modelliert. Die Bauarbeiten waren in hohem Maße durch das Design bestimmt. Die Architekten hatten ein Büro vor Ort und arbeiteten eng mit dem Bauunternehmen Complete Roofing Contractors zusammen, um Probleme zu beheben, Hilfe zu leisten, Rat zu geben und auf all die verschiedenen Details zu achten. Die 153.000 Ziegel bewirken zusammen ein auffallendes Erscheinungsbild des Dachs dieses Landhauses. Sie wurden nach und nach in den einzelnen Phasen des Projekts geliefert und mithilfe traditioneller Techniken der Handfertigung über einen Zeitraum von einem Jahr hergestellt.

Buildings: Handmade Clay Tiles
© James Morris

SCHÖN UND NACHHALTIG

Das fertige Anwesen verfügt über außergewöhnliche Nachhaltigkeit, wobei sowohl das Hauptgehäuse als auch das Cottage die beste lokale Energieeinstufung erreichen. Das Design des Hauses und die Landschaft wurden als zusammengehörig betrachtet, um zur lokalen Umgebung beizutragen und sie zu schützen und zu verbessern. Die Nachhaltigkeit von Caring Wood wird durch ein energiesparendes Design und die Nutzung sauberer, grüner Technologien, aber auch durch die Anwendung örtlicher Bauformen, die Auswahl vor Ort erhältlicher Materialien und die Betonung regionaler Details erreicht. Da der Rahmen für das Haus und das Anwesen damit geschaffen ist, wird es sich jetzt mit den wachsenden Anforderungen der Familie entwickeln, wäh- rend das Material gleichzeitig seine Leistung und seine ästhetische Integrität beibehalten wird.

Buildings: Handmade Clay Tiles
© James Morris
DATEN & FAKTEN
  • Projektname
    Caring Wood, Kent, Vereinigtes Königreich
  • Architekt
    James Macdonald Wright und Niall Maxwell
  • Bauherr
    Private
  • Verwendete Produkte

    Keymer County Peg Antique

  • Jahr der Fertigstellung
    2017
Keymer County Peg Antique

Dach

Keymer County Peg Antique – England

Jump to menu Jump to content
ArchivArrowArrow downCloseFacebookFullscreenInstagramLogo TextMagnifierMinusNextNumberOverviewPinterestPrevQuote 1Quote 2Social MediaShareTwitterUpdatesWienerberger LogoYouTubeYoutube
Issue #23

HANDMADE CLAY TILES BREATHE LIFE INTO THIS HOME

Roof & Façade

Caring Wood is an extensive country home project set in 84 acres of scenic Kentish countryside in the United Kingdom. It is a magnificent house with the space for three generations of the same family, incorporating formal, communal and private spaces. The project was recently the winner of 2017 RIBA House of the Year.
interior red brick architecture country single family home
© James Morris
caring wood red brick architecture nature single family home
© James Morris
caring wood brick architecture country single family home
© James Morris
Scroll to read
caring wood brick architecture country single family home
© James Morris

HANDMADE CLAY TILES BREATHE LIFE INTO THIS HOME

Roof & Façade

Caring Wood is an extensive country home project set in 84 acres of scenic Kentish countryside in the United Kingdom. It is a magnificent house with the space for three generations of the same family, incorporating formal, communal and private spaces. The project was recently the winner of 2017 RIBA House of the Year.

The architects faced a challenging brief: to embody the spirit of the English country house in a design which would embrace its context and landscape, while simultaneously providing a carbon neutral response to climate change. Aesthetic ambitions, practical needs and sustainable principles dictated every choice of material and fundamental element, especially the roof.

 

caring wood red brick architecture country single family home
© James Morris

NO ORDINARY ROOF
Their roofing design involved a combination of shapes and angles that demanded a durable and adaptable roof tile product. After an extensive search comparing suppliers and products, architects James Macdonald Wright and Niall Maxwell agreed on handmade clay roof tiles.

The architects chose traditional tiles for two reasons. Firstly, they liked the natural aesthetic, which is imbued with a distinctive finish and warmth of colour. And secondly, the design made handling and laying a simple and easy process for contractors. The architects were meticulous in their detailing and planning and so were attracted to these specific tiles because of their dedicated and flexible service.

Beyond the impression of sublime craftsmanship and spatial grandeur this house offers, Caring Wood leads us to fundamentally question how we might live together in the future.«

RIBA House of the Year 2017 jury chair, Deborah Saunt

caring wood red brick architecture nature single family home
© James Morris
caring wood red brick architecture courtyard single family home
© James Morris

DRIVEN BY DESIGN
The project team worked hard to ensure that nothing was left to chance – every angle and shape was specifically detailed and modelled in advance. It was a very design-led construction – the architects had a site office and were on hand to fix, help, advise and look at all the different details working closely with the contractor Complete Roofing Contractors. The 153,000 tiles added together to create a striking appearance for the country home’s roof. They were gradually delivered throughout each stage of the project and were produced using traditional handmade techniques over a period of a year.

caring wood red brick architecture garden single family home
© James Morris

BEAUTIFUL AND SUSTAINABLE
The finished property boasts exceptional sustainability, with both the main house and cottage achieving the best local energy rating. The design of the house and landscaping were jointly considered to contribute to, protect and enhance the local environment.

Caring Wood’s sustainability is addressed through a low energy design and the use of clean green technologies, but also in the application of regional building form, material choices and detailing. Having created the framework for the house and estate, it will now evolve to suit changing family needs, while the material will maintain their performance and aesthetic integrity.

caring wood red brick architecture courtyard single family home
© James Morris
Facts & Figures
  • Project name
    Caring Wood, Kent, United Kingdom
  • Architect
    James Macdonald Wright and Niall Maxwell
  • Client
    Private
  • Used products

    Keymer County Peg Antique

  • Year of completion
    2017
Keymer County Peg Antique

Roof

Keymer County Peg Antique – United Kingdom